IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

A Study in Drowning de Ava Reid
S'està carregant…

A Study in Drowning (edició 2023)

de Ava Reid (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
5391244,043 (3.81)4
Fantasy. Historical Fiction. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:

"Achingly atmospheric and beautifully sharp, A Study in Drowning will draw you in from the first page." ??Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author of Wilder Girls

Bestselling author Ava Reid makes her YA debut in this dark academic fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Elana K. Arnold.

Effy Sayre has always believed in fairy tales. Haunted by visions of the Fairy King since childhood, she's had no choice. Her tattered copy of Angharad??Emrys Myrddin's epic about a mortal girl who falls in love with the Fairy King, then destroys him??is the only thing keeping her afloat. So when Myrddin's family announces a contest to redesign the late author's estate, Effy feels certain it's her destiny.

But musty, decrepit Hiraeth Manor is an impossible task, and its residents are far from welcoming. Including Preston Héloury, a stodgy young literature scholar determined to expose Myrddin as a fraud. As the two rivals piece together clues about Myrddin's legacy, dark forces, both mortal and magical, conspire against them??and the truth may bring them both to ruin.

Part historical fantasy, part rivals-to-lovers romance, part Gothic mystery, and all haunting, dreamlike atmosphere, Ava Reid's powerful YA debut will lure in readers who loved The Atlas Six, House of Salt and Sorrows, or Girl, Serpen… (més)

Membre:Metachthonic
Títol:A Study in Drowning
Autors:Ava Reid (Autor)
Informació:Del Rey (2023)
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

A Study in Drowning de Ava Reid

Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 4 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 12 (següent | mostra-les totes)
This book immediately grabbed me, and I read the first half super quickly! It didn't turn out to be the book I thought it would be. I thought there would be a lot more of the house itself being the evil, but it ending up being what it was was very interesting. Overall a pretty good YA read. ( )
  lindywilson | Jan 3, 2024 |
So this book was such a strong book for me. I think this book had the right mix of dark academia, romance and mystery. This book had a really great fall setting as well. This was such a quick read but it also dealt with harder topics like SA and abuse and it has had some really intresting topics about authors and arists and how they can ler you down!! This was a rather quick read and def a new faorite in the genre!!

Merged review:

So this book was such a strong book for me. I think this book had the right mix of dark academia, romance and mystery. This book had a really great fall setting as well. This was such a quick read but it also dealt with harder topics like SA and abuse and it has had some really intresting topics about authors and arists and how they can ler you down!! This was a rather quick read and def a new faorite in the genre!! ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
So this book was such a strong book for me. I think this book had the right mix of dark academia, romance and mystery. This book had a really great fall setting as well. This was such a quick read but it also dealt with harder topics like SA and abuse and it has had some really intresting topics about authors and arists and how they can ler you down!! This was a rather quick read and def a new faorite in the genre!!

Merged review:

So this book was such a strong book for me. I think this book had the right mix of dark academia, romance and mystery. This book had a really great fall setting as well. This was such a quick read but it also dealt with harder topics like SA and abuse and it has had some really intresting topics about authors and arists and how they can ler you down!! This was a rather quick read and def a new faorite in the genre!! ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
I'm not sure if this book was really predictable or if I've just read too many books, but I figured everything out very early on. Still, the story itself is enjoyable and I didn't mind watching it play out - that is, I didn't mind much... ( )
  bookwyrmqueen | Dec 15, 2023 |
Ms Reid and I won't become friends anymore I fear.
Seeing this book in the monthly book box I was not really thrilled as I didn't really like the Wolf and the Huntsman, but I thought, let's give her a chance, this is after all her third book now, and she might have grown as a writer and might have gotten those things I considered major flaws in her debut under control. Sadly, she hasn't. If I thought the Wolf book suffered from plot holes and nonsensical plot lines at least her writing style was not objectionable (at least I don't remember that I was annoyed by it), now we have a story not necessarily with plot holes but still with a lot of nonsensical parts, topped with a writing style that is all over the place.
Simple sentence structure, occasional interlaced with big words (that feels like as if they were looked up just for this sentence) followed by a more "traditional" writing style, and once again, passages that are way too over descriptive. Which would not be so bad, if other parts of the story that might needed than more in depth are completely forgotten. (Did they ever eat anything at the house? Or did they only ever had coffee?)
Or for the nonsensical part, why do two grown ups need the permission of their host to leave?

I think my biggest issue is the lack of character development, which was already pretty flawed in the Wolf. Instead of having a path of how Preston and Effy get to know each other better, it is they meet and boom "hey let's write this very very important thesis together, doesn't matter that I have no idea if you can write, but when I saw you for the first time, I knew I wanted to do it only with you!' "Oh Preston, kiss me!"

On the plus side, I liked the surrealism of the decaying house, sadly Ms Reid could have done so much more with it but she drowned herself in unnecessary details just to get to a certain word counts (or so it seems) while on the other hand glossing over events that could have given the story more depth. ( )
  Black-Lilly | Dec 12, 2023 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 12 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Fantasy. Historical Fiction. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:

"Achingly atmospheric and beautifully sharp, A Study in Drowning will draw you in from the first page." ??Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author of Wilder Girls

Bestselling author Ava Reid makes her YA debut in this dark academic fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Elana K. Arnold.

Effy Sayre has always believed in fairy tales. Haunted by visions of the Fairy King since childhood, she's had no choice. Her tattered copy of Angharad??Emrys Myrddin's epic about a mortal girl who falls in love with the Fairy King, then destroys him??is the only thing keeping her afloat. So when Myrddin's family announces a contest to redesign the late author's estate, Effy feels certain it's her destiny.

But musty, decrepit Hiraeth Manor is an impossible task, and its residents are far from welcoming. Including Preston Héloury, a stodgy young literature scholar determined to expose Myrddin as a fraud. As the two rivals piece together clues about Myrddin's legacy, dark forces, both mortal and magical, conspire against them??and the truth may bring them both to ruin.

Part historical fantasy, part rivals-to-lovers romance, part Gothic mystery, and all haunting, dreamlike atmosphere, Ava Reid's powerful YA debut will lure in readers who loved The Atlas Six, House of Salt and Sorrows, or Girl, Serpen

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.81)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5 2
3 9
3.5 7
4 7
4.5 2
5 11

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 201,582,167 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible