IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Sense and Second-Degree Murder: Jane Austen…
S'està carregant…

Sense and Second-Degree Murder: Jane Austen Murder Mysteries, Book 2 (edició 2022)

de Tirzah Price (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
16010173,978 (3.96)1
Mystery. Romance. Historical Fiction. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:

In this second book of the Jane Austen Murder Mystery series, Tirzah Price takes readers for another fun, murderous romp through one of Austen's beloved novels. Perfect for fans of The Lady Janies and Stalking Jack the Ripper. A Junior Library Guild pick!

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estateincluding Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father's partner and protgto their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London's Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery: a suspicious substance in their father's teacupone that can only be described as poison. And poison, as Marianne's father taught her, always points to murder.

It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won't bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father's murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfortand it might even lead to love.

"Pride and Premeditation is a romantic and entertaining page-turner, sure to delight readers of any genre." Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series

.
… (més)
Membre:Mandy_Helfer
Títol:Sense and Second-Degree Murder: Jane Austen Murder Mysteries, Book 2
Autors:Tirzah Price (Autor)
Informació:HarperTeen (2022)
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

Sense and Second-Degree Murder de Tirzah Price

Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 1 menció

Es mostren 1-5 de 10 (següent | mostra-les totes)
This Jane Austen fan fiction cozy mystery was a delightful surprise. Chosen (and suggested) to fill a prompt for a book challenge concerning a Jane Austen retelling, I had low expectations. They were easily exceeded right from the start in this page-turner inspired, of course, by Sense and Sensibility. The Dashwood girls in this story are strong, independent women, not traditional society maidens dashing about England looking for husbands, yet the two older sisters, Elinor and Marianne, do find romance. The story begins when Elinor finds their father, a successful private investigator, dead at his desk in the study. Elinor is an amateur chemist; Marianne had been apprenticing with her father; and their eleven-year-old sister, Margaret, is a budding crime novelist. The sisters suspect and confirm their father was murdered and set out to solve the mystery. The story cleverly hits all the major plot lines from Sense and Sensibility in a new and fresh way. Definitely one of the better Austen-inspired fan fictions I have read. Will definitely put the others on my reading list. ( )
  bschweiger | Feb 4, 2024 |
Another win for Tirzah Price, this time with Sense & Sensibility Cozy Murder Mystery.

What a delight! I love that Eleanor played with chemistry, Marianne took up the role of detective, and Margaret wanted to write mystery novels. I love how both the first book of the series (Pride and Premeditation) and this book have weaved the beloved Jane Austen characters into a cozy mystery. ( )
  wallace2012 | Nov 4, 2023 |
Elinor is an aspiring scientist who is determined to figure out how her father died (poison) and who did it! The main storyline of a family of women pushed out into the world by the selfish half brother & his wife is preserved. There is also an interesting use of the opium underworld as part of the mystery. Very cleverly done. ( )
  tjsjohanna | Aug 16, 2023 |
I have read quite a few Austen-Christie mash-ups, with Regency favourites (usually Elizabeth Bennet) turning amateur sleuth, but the cover won me over in this instance, I won't lie. I wish I could have beheld an actual printed copy instead of the grey Kindle version! And I wholeheartedly concur with any twist on the original novels where Austen's heroines have greater ambitions than finding a husband, in this case with Elinor and Marianne of Sense and Sensibility studying chemistry and training to be an investigator respectively.

However, something about the story just did not click for me, and I either kept falling asleep or putting off reading. I thought the twists were cute - Marianne's rival for Willoughby's affections is a club called Grey's, and her brush with death is rather more dramatic than wandering around in the rain - but I wasn't interested in the mystery, and to be fair, S+S is a pretty boring template to start with. Also, the Regency AU, where women can have careers and Edward Ferrars (renamed Farrow, for some reason) is an accountant, didn't work either. Why not change the setting to 1920s New York, for example, where the author's Americanisms (blocks and stoops abound in 1800s London) and modern dialogue wouldn't have been so jarring? There was no reason to stick with the early nineteenth century, apart from the Regency fetishists who read/watch Austen for the bonnet count and not the characters. ( )
  AdonisGuilfoyle | Jul 3, 2023 |
I enjoyed Pride and Premediation, but I was especially delighted by how cleverly and easily Sense and Sensibility could become a murder mystery. It even begins with a death! And making that death a murder doesn’t move the story away from the themes of Austen’s, it just means they are explored in a slightly different context -- the way Elinor and Marianne try to solve their father’s murder highlights their differences in personality and perspective.

This is an excellent retelling. ( )
  Herenya | Jan 13, 2023 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 10 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Mystery. Romance. Historical Fiction. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:

In this second book of the Jane Austen Murder Mystery series, Tirzah Price takes readers for another fun, murderous romp through one of Austen's beloved novels. Perfect for fans of The Lady Janies and Stalking Jack the Ripper. A Junior Library Guild pick!

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estateincluding Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father's partner and protgto their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London's Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery: a suspicious substance in their father's teacupone that can only be described as poison. And poison, as Marianne's father taught her, always points to murder.

It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won't bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father's murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfortand it might even lead to love.

"Pride and Premeditation is a romantic and entertaining page-turner, sure to delight readers of any genre." Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series

.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.96)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 5
3.5 1
4 10
4.5 6
5 3

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 208,359,606 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible