IniciGrupsConversesExplora
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

A Taste of Gold and Iron de Alexandra…
S'està carregant…

A Taste of Gold and Iron (edició 2022)

de Alexandra Rowland (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1897128,447 (3.98)4
A sweeping fantasy romance set against the backdrop of an Ottoman Empire-inspired world, A Taste of Gold and Iron by Alexandra Rowland is perfect for fans of A Marvellous Light and The Goblin Emperor.'A delicious tangle of romance, fealty and dangerous politics' - Tasha Suri, author of The Jasmine ThroneOne false coin could topple an empire.Kadou, the shy prince of Arasht, has no intention of wrestling for imperial control with his sister, the queen. Yet he remains at odds with one of the most powerful ambassadors at court - the father of the queen's new child. Then a hunting party goes terribly awry, and Kadou finds himself under suspicion of attempted murder.To prove his loyalty to his sister and salvage his reputation, Kadou takes responsibility for the investigation of a break-in at one of their guilds. He enlists the help of his newly appointed bodyguard, the coldly handsome Evemer, who seems to tolerate him at best. But what appears to be a straightforward crime spirals into a complex counterfeiting operation, with a powerful enemy at its heart.In Arasht, where princes can touch-taste precious metals with their fingers and myth runs side by side with history, counterfeiting is heresy. The conspiracy they discover could cripple the kingdom's financial standing - and bring about its ruin.'As indulgent and satisfying as your favourite fanfiction' - Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear… (més)
Membre:bshaw88
Títol:A Taste of Gold and Iron
Autors:Alexandra Rowland (Autor)
Informació:Tordotcom (2022), 505 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

A Taste of Gold and Iron de Alexandra Rowland

Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 4 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 7 (següent | mostra-les totes)
A bit long-winded and very slow-burn, but I really like the story. Good world-building, compelling characters. ( )
  Marliese | Jan 8, 2023 |
A Taste of Gold and Iron by Alexandra Rowland left me pleasantly surprised. I was not expecting to enjoy it as much as I did because there isn’t much to it. The plot is simple. A prince, who has zero self-esteem, decides to step up and investigate a mysterious plot. That’s it. That’s the story. There is magic and romance, but it is a basic plot. I enjoyed A Taste of Gold and Iron because of the setting. It is so lush and exotic, and I couldn’t get enough of it. The romance is a bonus. ( )
  jmchshannon | Dec 24, 2022 |
Kadou is the prince of a nation modeled after the Ottoman Empire, in a timeline set in the late 16th century. His sister, the sultan, has just given birth to Kadou’s niece, to his immense relief. However, turmoil is brewing and Kadou finds himself at the center of it, and as a result falls out of favor with the sultan, a little bit.

“A man could be good, but a prince? A prince could only be good enough. He could, if he tried his utmost, meet expectations. But they were far, far too high for anyone to be able to exceed them.”
The Empire is a fictional one, and even a little bit fantastical, but the magical elements are slight enough that this reads more like historical romance than fantasy. The society is matriarchal and the people of the land are pretty diverse. Gender and sexuality aren’t qualities that determine a person’s value, and mostly goes unaddressed. (For example, there are three genders and this is never explained, rather you figure it out from the third gender pronouns. There is one reference to the third gender in a discussion about who people are attracted to, and a brief comment about how a character’s broken ribs weren’t so bad off because they were being held together by their binder.)

The story is told from two points of view, Kadou the prince's, and that of Evemer, his sworn protector. The story is heavily character driven and very slow build, and focuses a lot on Kadou’s crippling anxiety, the pressures he feels he’s under, and the insidious self doubt and self flagellation he’s plagued by. Evemer, in turn, is very rule oriented, strict, and loyal. He takes his duties very seriously, and is at first as resentful of his new charge as he feels he can allow himself to be.

“Anger was a relief, in a way. It was easier than fear. He was so tired of fear, but he was helpless to resist it or fight it off. It was like heading into battle at sea against a fleet of ghost ships.”
There is a very fun cast of side characters that brings levity to the sometimes pretty serious goings on, and I particularly liked Melek, Tadek and Commander Eozena. I even laughed out loud, several times. The sultan is a bit of frustrating character in how she balances her roles as the ruler of the Empire as well as that of sister to Kadou.

The plot is there to further the (eventual) romance between Kadou and Evemer, and while interesting enough, the plot is not the point of the story. The romance itself is very slowly and meticulously built, taking into consideration the very heavy power imbalance between the characters as well as Kadou's role in society and the restrictions it creates on how much of his life and decisions are actually his own.

I read this book pretty slowly and annotated it along the way, and I feel like I got more out of it than I would have if I’d just read it through without stopping to chew a little on the various decisions of the different characters. All in all, I really ended up enjoying this, even if I’m not usually a huge fan of historical romance, particularly when the language is at times rather formal. ( )
  tuusannuuska | Dec 1, 2022 |
Kadou is a prince with an undiagnosed, untreated anxiety disorder (and a magical talent, like a number of others in his country, for assessing the purity of metal). Evemer is his new bodyguard, assigned after an interaction with his sister the sultan’s lover went terribly wrong. He initially misunderstands Kadou’s anxiety as cowardice, but soon learns better. They fight crime! And fall in love. AO3 tags include: hurt/comfort, there was only one bed, mutual pining, and forced to marry (through circumstances that make it imperative that they not consummate their attraction). ( )
  rivkat | Nov 7, 2022 |
I really hoped I would enjoy this more…
It always annoys me when fantasy worlds still have misogyny, homophobia or racism or all three, so I loved that this universe did not have any.
Unfortunately the rest fell a bit flat. I can’t think of anything wrong with this book, but I didn’t love it either ( )
  MYvos | Sep 28, 2022 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 7 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

A sweeping fantasy romance set against the backdrop of an Ottoman Empire-inspired world, A Taste of Gold and Iron by Alexandra Rowland is perfect for fans of A Marvellous Light and The Goblin Emperor.'A delicious tangle of romance, fealty and dangerous politics' - Tasha Suri, author of The Jasmine ThroneOne false coin could topple an empire.Kadou, the shy prince of Arasht, has no intention of wrestling for imperial control with his sister, the queen. Yet he remains at odds with one of the most powerful ambassadors at court - the father of the queen's new child. Then a hunting party goes terribly awry, and Kadou finds himself under suspicion of attempted murder.To prove his loyalty to his sister and salvage his reputation, Kadou takes responsibility for the investigation of a break-in at one of their guilds. He enlists the help of his newly appointed bodyguard, the coldly handsome Evemer, who seems to tolerate him at best. But what appears to be a straightforward crime spirals into a complex counterfeiting operation, with a powerful enemy at its heart.In Arasht, where princes can touch-taste precious metals with their fingers and myth runs side by side with history, counterfeiting is heresy. The conspiracy they discover could cripple the kingdom's financial standing - and bring about its ruin.'As indulgent and satisfying as your favourite fanfiction' - Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.98)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 3
3.5 2
4 9
4.5 1
5 8

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 183,298,213 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible