IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

This Is Not the Real World (This is Not the Jess Show)

de Anna Carey

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
345726,049 (3.68)Cap
Suspense. Science Fiction & Fantasy. Thriller. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:Nineties nostalgia takes a dark turn in this thrilling sequel to This Is Not the Jess Show, perfect for readers of We Were Liars and One of Us Is Lying.
Months after Jess escaped from the set of Stuck in the 90s, the nostalgic reality show she believed was her real life, the teen star is getting to know the outside world for the first time. But she cant outrun her fictional life foreveror the media empire that owns it.
After Like-Life Productions tracks her down and forces her boyfriend to return to the show, Jess teams up with an underground network fighting to uncover Like-Lifes schemes. To expose the truth, Jess must go back to the set and take Like-Life down from the inside . . . but getting revenge might just cost her everything.
… (més)
Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren totes 5
Disappointed in this one after the really good start to the series. The ending was unsatisfying and I was hoping the story would be wrapped up. Instead, it would appear that it was prepped for a third book.
Also, I don’t like that the couple fell into bed with each other.
If I’m right about a third book, I won’t be continuing with it.

2.5 Stars ( )
  libraryofemma | Apr 18, 2024 |
More intense than the first book, but the nostalgia was lacking and the ending was not very satisfying. ( )
  bookwyrmm | Dec 9, 2023 |
What a GREAT continuation of an already amazing story. Just when Jess thinks she’s escaped the world of LLP and left the fake 90s behind, she’s pulled back in. To save herself, to save the boy she loves and to uncover the truth behind the Chrysalis & the money making machinations of LLP. Once back in, she doesn’t know who to trust. She has Sara and Charli helping her on the outside, as best as they can. Is Val trustworthy? Amber & Kristen? She and Kipps are on their own, not knowing what will happen. Of COURSE, there’s a cliffhanger, leaving a few major loose ends. Cannot wait until NEXT year to see what happens. This is a must for YA mystery/suspense lovers. Thank you NetGalley for the ARC. ( )
  Z_Brarian | Dec 12, 2022 |
A good sequel! Jess is hiding out with her boyfriend after escaping a Truman Show-like studio where she thought she lived a normal life in the 90s, only to find out it's the early 2030s. Jess is getting used to living in the present when her boyfriend is kidnapped, and Jess has to back to the studio and try to fake her way through the sitcom. I really liked this sequel; it referenced songs I knew and loved in the 90s and movies too. I really hope there will be a third book. ( )
  lesindy | Nov 10, 2022 |
In the fast-paced sequel to This is Not the Jess Show, Jess has escaped the reality show that kept her unknowingly trapped on a 1990's era set her entire childhood. She and her boyfriend, Kipps, are living with her fake sister Sara (who fake-died of cancer on the show) and working to expose the evils of the show.

But the show isn't ready to let either of them go. When the show tracks them down, they capture Kipps, who isn't eighteen yet. His parents are willing to send him back for a paycheck, and Jess is told that her only way to see them is to rejoin the show. After the secret group trying to expose the show tells Jess they need an agent on the inside, Jess agrees to go back. She wants to spend time with her boyfriend, steal evidence and take down the show. But the producers aren't going to let their best show go without a fight, and Jess and Kipps are in more danger than they know.

This book was interesting because Jess is in on the concept now. She can go to employee break runs, recognize who's a series regular and a guest star, and finds out about the hidden nooks and crannies that hid cameras and future era tech.

Jess struggles to come to terms with her parents and their decisions, as well as knowing who else on set she can trust. Her relationship with Kipps is the only bright spot in her life. He balances her out and keeps her sane, while his love of his family is admirable.

As life within the set gets worse and worse, Jess must decide what she's willing to sacrifice to stay.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the advance review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  Asingrey | May 8, 2022 |
Es mostren totes 5
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Suspense. Science Fiction & Fantasy. Thriller. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:Nineties nostalgia takes a dark turn in this thrilling sequel to This Is Not the Jess Show, perfect for readers of We Were Liars and One of Us Is Lying.
Months after Jess escaped from the set of Stuck in the 90s, the nostalgic reality show she believed was her real life, the teen star is getting to know the outside world for the first time. But she cant outrun her fictional life foreveror the media empire that owns it.
After Like-Life Productions tracks her down and forces her boyfriend to return to the show, Jess teams up with an underground network fighting to uncover Like-Lifes schemes. To expose the truth, Jess must go back to the set and take Like-Life down from the inside . . . but getting revenge might just cost her everything.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.68)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 4
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5 3

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 208,688,810 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible