IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

Just Like Home

de Sarah Gailey

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
5781941,064 (3.65)6
Just Like Home is a darkly gothic thriller from nationally bestselling author Sarah Gailey, perfect for fans of Netflix's The Haunting of Hill House as well as HBO's true crime masterpiece I'll Be Gone in the Dark. "Come home." Vera's mother called and Vera obeyed. In spite of their long estrangement, in spite of the memories -- she's come back to the home of a serial killer. Back to face the love she had for her father and the bodies he buried there, beneath the house he'd built for his family. Coming home is hard enough for Vera, and to make things worse, she and her mother aren't alone. A parasitic artist has moved into the guest house out back and is slowly stripping Vera's childhood for spare parts. He insists that he isn't the one leaving notes around the house in her father's handwriting... but who else could it possibly be? There are secrets yet undiscovered in the foundations of the notorious Crowder House. Vera must face them and find out for herself just how deep the rot goes.… (més)
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 6 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 19 (següent | mostra-les totes)
4.5 rounded up. ( )
  deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
I just….I couldn’t stop reading this. I thought I knew what was going on and then I didn’t and then I definitely did. But the whole time I just felt…compelled to know exactly what happened next. But also. Wtf. ( )
  ChaoticGoblin | Jan 23, 2024 |
oof! what a book. based on other reviews this is very much a love it or hate it book. you're not going to kinda like this. but this was a huge win for me. this had so many things i love/look for in a thriller/horror book like a main character with a dark past, a dysfunctional family, body horror!, claustrophobic - i didn't even know that that was a feeling authors could make you feel through WORDS! and unexpected plot points i never saw coming. i said what the actual heck many times while reading this one. this book truly disturbed me.. in the best way. it was smart, awkward and haunting. it reminds me of this Stephen King quote: “Monsters are real and ghosts are real too. They live inside us, and sometimes, they win.” ( )
  Ellen-Simon | Dec 21, 2023 |
Viserally disgusting. I liked a few parts but will stand by my 1 star review because I would physically fight this book given a chance. ( )
  mutantpudding | Nov 8, 2023 |
When her dying, estranged mother calls Vera back home, she packs her life into her car and drives cross-country. If that wasn't strange enough...it gets better. The house she is returning to was built by her father...who was...ready for this?...an infamous serial killer. She also finds an artist, who could well be described as a parasite, renting a space in the backyard shed. His plan is to “collaborate” with the house’s psychic residues. Between her ailing mother’s cruel mood swings, and this artist creep consuming her childhood memories for "inspiration"...the legacy of her father’s love along with his crimes, dd the creepy Crowder house itself derail Vera’s attempts to settle the estate rapidly as she had hoped. The house is filled with secrets, lies, and rot: what else lurks beneath those glossy floorboards is anybody's guess. Another book review describes this story perfectly "This is visceral gothic horror story dedicated to everyone who ever loved a monster.” Nothing in the book gets any easier as the story goes on. The family's drama is full of cruelty, fear, betrayal, and nightmares. The reader begins to understand that there is more than one monster in Crowder House. Overall: I did very much enjoy the story even though it felt a tad uneven, for lack of a better description...in places...but it does leave an unsettling feeling in the atmosphere along with a delightful chill on the back of your neck...so what more could you really ask for from a good horror story? ( )
  Carol420 | Aug 16, 2023 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 19 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Like all the best gothic novels, this one is atmospheric, at times hallucinatory, and absolutely oozing with menace; like all the best literary fiction, it resists easy judgments.
afegit per zembla | editaLiterary Hub, Jess Zimmerman (Mar 17, 2022)
 
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
This is the story of monsters and what they do to those who love them, those who fear them, and those who are simply in the wrong place at the wrong time. Or, from a different perspective, those who are in the right place at the right time. Serendipity is just as cruel as it is kind.

This book is dedicated to anyone who has ever loved a monster.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
The Crowder House clung to the soil the way damp air clings to hot skin.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Just Like Home is a darkly gothic thriller from nationally bestselling author Sarah Gailey, perfect for fans of Netflix's The Haunting of Hill House as well as HBO's true crime masterpiece I'll Be Gone in the Dark. "Come home." Vera's mother called and Vera obeyed. In spite of their long estrangement, in spite of the memories -- she's come back to the home of a serial killer. Back to face the love she had for her father and the bodies he buried there, beneath the house he'd built for his family. Coming home is hard enough for Vera, and to make things worse, she and her mother aren't alone. A parasitic artist has moved into the guest house out back and is slowly stripping Vera's childhood for spare parts. He insists that he isn't the one leaving notes around the house in her father's handwriting... but who else could it possibly be? There are secrets yet undiscovered in the foundations of the notorious Crowder House. Vera must face them and find out for herself just how deep the rot goes.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.65)
0.5
1 3
1.5 1
2 8
2.5 2
3 16
3.5 8
4 43
4.5 4
5 14

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 204,351,820 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible