IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Poet's House de Jean Thompson
S'està carregant…

The Poet's House (edició 2022)

de Jean Thompson (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
514447,972 (3.69)6
An unforgettable, lighthearted story about a young woman who discovers the insular world of writers, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Year We Left Home. Carla is in her twenties, working for a landscaper, lacking confidence, still unsure what direction her life will take. Viridian is a lauded and lovely aging poet whose reputation has been defined by her infamous affair with a famous male poet, Mathias, many years earlier. When Carla is hired to work at Viridian's house, she is perplexed by this community of writers: their tendency to recite lines in conversation, the stories of their many liaisons, their endless wine-soaked nights. And still she becomes enamored with Viridian and her whole circle, and especially with the power of words, the "ache and hunger that can both be awakened and soothed by a poem," a hunger that Carla feels sharply at this stagnating moment in her young life. At the same time, she sees how even Viridian has had to compromise so much to take her place in the world of letters. And as Viridian's standing begins to fade, a number of people angle to gain possession of Mathias's cycle of poems written about Viridian, a cycle he famously burned as he read them. Yet long after Mathias' s death, one copy may still rest with Viridian. If so, why won't she release it?   A wry meditation on art as both transformative and on the ways in which it can be leveraged as commerce, as well as a perceptive examination of the female artist, Jean Thompson's novel is at once delightfully funny and wise, and will resonate with readers who loved Lily King's Writers & Lovers, Meg Wolitzer's The Female Persuasion, and Susan Choi's Trust Exercise.  … (més)
Membre:mayaspector
Títol:The Poet's House
Autors:Jean Thompson (Autor)
Informació:Algonquin Books (2022), Edition: First Edition, 320 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:****
Etiquetes:poets, California, Northern California

Informació de l'obra

The Poet's House de Jean Thompson

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 6 mencions

Es mostren totes 3
When I started Jean Thompson’s The Poet’s House, I worried it was another dreaded book about an angsty twenty-something trying to find herself…and it is, but in the best way. Having struggled with reading and school her entire life, landscaper Carla finds herself hanging around a group of poets after she falls asleep on Viridian’s porch during a job. Carla realizes Viridian is a famous poet, and she begins to care for the older woman and her friends as she tries to figure out where she is in her own life. What Thompson brings to this story that so many writers cannot is her worldly knowledge, and excellent writing that manages to flesh out a lot of characters in a little space, The Poet’s House is an excellent book about writing, poetry, friendship, and the struggle to find yourself at any age. ( )
  Hccpsk | Sep 2, 2022 |
As a wannabe writer much of my life, I quite enjoyed this. Twenty-something Carla is dyslexic, so reading is not her strong suit; college has not held her. She works for a landscaper, and is a skillful and knowledgeable gardener. But one day she is smitten by a gracious, elegant older woman called Viridian, a famous poet whose garden she is tending. Which doesn't mean much to Carla, until she happens on a reading by Viridian, and when she hears the poems read aloud, she is thunderstruck. Viridian begins to draw Carla into her social clique - long wine-soaked dinners and endless talk talk talk, words words words, puzzling and complicated relationships, poisonous ambition, empty performances. Naïve Carla can't get enough of it. But she is smart, outspoken, and doesn't mind asking "stupid questions," and people seem to like her. Her open and curious observation of this literary culture makes for some wry, funny, but generally forgiving, mockery of the posturing, backbiting manipulation in the very incestuous world of poetry - leavened with some true kindness and loyalty. Viridian, Carla discovers, has money trouble, health problems, and a dark and dramatic past with a crazed poet whose final works were destroyed before he committed suicide. Or were they? Wouldn't everyone like to know, and get their hands on them!

The episode of a writers' conference up in the woods goes on too long, but anyone who's been to one of those shindigs will get a smile and a laugh of recognition of how silly they can be and how much some attendees are ready to slip out early by the fourth day. (Five days! I can barely stick out two!) The humor can go a bit sophomoric (the horndog Famous Novelist cavorting in a hot tub with two squealing girls, while the tub water steeps leaves of poison oak). The ending is quite a bit too neat, too pat - Carla makes a discovery that solves pretty much everyone's problems at once, and finds a promising path forward for herself. Even her obnoxious mother finds love. Some characters are a bit thin, others are quite lovable; Carla's boyfriend is a dweeb and possibly a jerk. But overall, a pleasant couple of evenings with someone who knows well the world of which she writes, with affection spiced with rueful teasing. ( )
  JulieStielstra | Aug 25, 2022 |
The Poet's House by Jean Thompson is a coming of age story. The main character Carla is introduced to her own potential. This story takes a while to settle into. Ultimately, the fact that art - especially art with words - is the vehicle for Carla's growth of course resonates with this reader. I believe in the power of words to alter lives, and this book personifies that.

Read my complete review at http://www.memoriesfrombooks.com/2022/07/the-poets-house.html

Reviewed for NetGalley and a publisher’s blog tour. ( )
  njmom3 | Jul 17, 2022 |
Es mostren totes 3
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

An unforgettable, lighthearted story about a young woman who discovers the insular world of writers, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Year We Left Home. Carla is in her twenties, working for a landscaper, lacking confidence, still unsure what direction her life will take. Viridian is a lauded and lovely aging poet whose reputation has been defined by her infamous affair with a famous male poet, Mathias, many years earlier. When Carla is hired to work at Viridian's house, she is perplexed by this community of writers: their tendency to recite lines in conversation, the stories of their many liaisons, their endless wine-soaked nights. And still she becomes enamored with Viridian and her whole circle, and especially with the power of words, the "ache and hunger that can both be awakened and soothed by a poem," a hunger that Carla feels sharply at this stagnating moment in her young life. At the same time, she sees how even Viridian has had to compromise so much to take her place in the world of letters. And as Viridian's standing begins to fade, a number of people angle to gain possession of Mathias's cycle of poems written about Viridian, a cycle he famously burned as he read them. Yet long after Mathias' s death, one copy may still rest with Viridian. If so, why won't she release it?   A wry meditation on art as both transformative and on the ways in which it can be leveraged as commerce, as well as a perceptive examination of the female artist, Jean Thompson's novel is at once delightfully funny and wise, and will resonate with readers who loved Lily King's Writers & Lovers, Meg Wolitzer's The Female Persuasion, and Susan Choi's Trust Exercise.  

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.69)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 3
3.5 5
4 7
4.5
5 2

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 180,205,161 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible