IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

A Crown of Ivy and Glass (The Middlemist…
S'està carregant…

A Crown of Ivy and Glass (The Middlemist Trilogy, 1) (edició 2024)

de Claire Legrand (Autor)

Sèrie: Middlemist Trilogy (1)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
2605103,031 (3.2)1
Fantasy. Fiction. Mythology. Romance. HTML:

"Full of high stakes and detailed fantasy worldbuilding with interesting mythology for readers." ??Library Journal

New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn, Claire Legrand, makes her stunning adult debut with A Crown of Ivy and Glass, a lush, sweeping, steamy fantasy romance series starter that's perfect for fans of Bridgerton and A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Lady Gemma Ashbourne seemingly has it all. She's young, gorgeous, and rich. Her family was Anointed by the gods, blessed with incredible abilities. But underneath her glittering façade, Gemma is deeply sad. Years ago, her sister Mara was taken to the Middlemist to guard against treacherous magic. Her mother abandoned the family. Her father and eldest sister, Farrin??embroiled in a deadly blood feud with the mysterious Bask family??often forget Gemma exists.

Worst of all, Gemma is the only Ashbourne to possess no magic. Instead, her body fights it like poison. Constantly ill, aching with loneliness, Gemma craves love and yearns to belong.

Then she meets the devastatingly handsome Talan d'Astier. His family destroyed themselves, seduced by a demon, and Talan, the only survivor, is determined to redeem their honor. Intrigued and enchanted, Gemma proposes a bargain: She'll help Talan navigate high society if he helps her destroy the Basks. According to popular legend, a demon called The Man With the Three-Eyed Crown is behind the families' blood feud??slay the demon, end the feud.

But attacks on the Middlemist are increasing. The plot against the Basks quickly spirals out of control. And something immense and terrifying is awakening in Gemma, drawing her inexorably toward Talan and an all-consuming passion that could destroy her??or show her the true strength of her po… (més)

Membre:ovineyard
Títol:A Crown of Ivy and Glass (The Middlemist Trilogy, 1)
Autors:Claire Legrand (Autor)
Informació:Sourcebooks Casablanca (2024), 608 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

A Crown of Ivy and Glass de Claire Legrand

Cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 1 menció

Es mostren totes 5
So I really enjoyed this book. The writing is exquisite. The character development is well done. I really enjoyed the story.

My biggest issue is that there are so many plot lines that are interconnected in this one book. It could've easily been broken down into two or three separate books.

Despite that I am still anticipating book 2 and 3.

Spoiler:
Legrand does a good job with the twists ( )
  mlstweet | Jul 16, 2023 |
So I have mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, it’s like an epic fantasy meets regency. Something different — love that — the magic element is there, but not like what I expected. The romance (spice) element was there. But the on-again/off-again thing was a little too much (at least for me). The story really picked up for me when the reanimated ladies showed up and got Gemma for the Necromancers. So that was pretty cool. The last part of the second act and the third act were the best in my opinion. I know there’s more stories featuring the sisters coming, and I heard they’re stand-alone novels, so I’d be curious to see what the next one will be. ( )
  philae_02 | Jul 9, 2023 |
This had all the right tropes. A kingdom of magic! Fantasy, romance, revenge, an alluring young woman who didn’t quite fit—allergic to magic, a Capulet and Montague-type family feud, a missing mother, lovely swanlike swain who I didn’t like or trust, green ivy pathways—transiting points that the family can use except they always spit Gemma out and she’s always dreadfully ill. Then there’s the monsters in the edging mists (Middlemist) fought by the selected warrior women who transform (usually the youngest daughter in the family but because of Gemma’s reaction to magic, it’s her sister who has to go!) Oh those mistlands, the deformed beings, part of the Mistfires! Yes!
I mean so much happening that I was dizzy. High fantasy exploding! I should have revelled in it, I didn’t. Gemma is beautiful, facile, beguiling and nasty (I know magic makes her wretchedly tempered, but she’s mean!) The tone is totally Young Adult and a disappointment. Regency style or really just a fairytale-like fantasy? The Regency description is a step too far for me.
The story became a struggle to finish not long after I’d started.

A Sourcebooks Casablanca ARC via NetGalley. ( )
1 vota eyes.2c | May 24, 2023 |
I've been a huge fan of Claire Legrand since Furyborn and so I was definitely thrilled at this big ole adult fantasy coming out! I was thoroughly brought into this new world with the lavish world building, unique magic system and fantastic plot line. The characters were wonderfully developed and you really start to feel very invested in their various predicaments. Gemma, with no magic but stunning in her beauty and charm. Farrin, gifted with the magic of song, has been tasked with running the powerful Ashborne estate for her father who is embedded in a long standing feud with the Bask family, and finally Mara, sent to be one of the "Roses", a defender at the border of the Middlemist, where the ancient magic of the Olden gods threatens to breakthrough into their own world.
The only thing that I didn't think was needed was some of the terminology for lady bits when "dirty talk" was part of the scene. It cheapened it for me and maybe that's part of the reason it was classified as an adult fantasy. Believe me, I enjoy me some spicy fairy p#rn as much as the next person but it just didn't work in this situation. Other than that I really loved the book and will absolutely be reading and recommending this series. ( )
  Verkruissen | May 15, 2023 |
The beginning of what promises to be an epic fantasy trilogy. Claire Legrand built a full on world teeming with charming and challenging characters; there’s exceptional magic and danger lurks around every corner. This was definitely a slow start, but I attribute that to the immense world building that went into this and setting the stage for the rest of the trilogy. And by the final two thirds, I could not put the book down and I am anxiously awaiting the next installment.

Gemma is the daughter of an anointed sage and the sister of two ferociously magic women. But Gemma not only has no magic, she is in fact sickened by it. And considering her world is immersed in magic, she is in a constant state of pain. But she hides this beyond a glittering facade, playing the coy beauty. When a handsome foreigner arrives, Gemma cannot help but be attracted to Talan. And they may each have something the other wants. But is their attraction too dangerous? Or is it exactly what Gemma needs to free herself from her all consuming pain. TW: Self-harm. ( )
  tarapeace | Apr 24, 2023 |
Es mostren totes 5
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Llistes notables

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

Fantasy. Fiction. Mythology. Romance. HTML:

"Full of high stakes and detailed fantasy worldbuilding with interesting mythology for readers." ??Library Journal

New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn, Claire Legrand, makes her stunning adult debut with A Crown of Ivy and Glass, a lush, sweeping, steamy fantasy romance series starter that's perfect for fans of Bridgerton and A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Lady Gemma Ashbourne seemingly has it all. She's young, gorgeous, and rich. Her family was Anointed by the gods, blessed with incredible abilities. But underneath her glittering façade, Gemma is deeply sad. Years ago, her sister Mara was taken to the Middlemist to guard against treacherous magic. Her mother abandoned the family. Her father and eldest sister, Farrin??embroiled in a deadly blood feud with the mysterious Bask family??often forget Gemma exists.

Worst of all, Gemma is the only Ashbourne to possess no magic. Instead, her body fights it like poison. Constantly ill, aching with loneliness, Gemma craves love and yearns to belong.

Then she meets the devastatingly handsome Talan d'Astier. His family destroyed themselves, seduced by a demon, and Talan, the only survivor, is determined to redeem their honor. Intrigued and enchanted, Gemma proposes a bargain: She'll help Talan navigate high society if he helps her destroy the Basks. According to popular legend, a demon called The Man With the Three-Eyed Crown is behind the families' blood feud??slay the demon, end the feud.

But attacks on the Middlemist are increasing. The plot against the Basks quickly spirals out of control. And something immense and terrifying is awakening in Gemma, drawing her inexorably toward Talan and an all-consuming passion that could destroy her??or show her the true strength of her po

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.2)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5 1
3 1
3.5 1
4 1
4.5 2
5 1

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 205,723,436 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible