IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Jesus Freaks de Don Lattin
S'està carregant…

Jesus Freaks (2007)

de Don Lattin

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
934225,171 (3.46)4
In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Under the Banner of Heaven, Don Lattin's Jesus Freaks is the story of a shocking pilgrimage of revenge that left two people dead and shed new light on The Family International, one of the most controversial religious movements to emerge from the spiritual turmoil of the sixties and seventies. Some say The Family International--previously known as the Children of God--began with the best intentions. But their sexual and spiritual excesses soon forced them to go underground and follow a dark and dangerous path. Their charismatic leader, David "Moses" Berg, preached a radical critique of the piety and hypocrisy of mainstream Christianity. But Berg's message quickly devolved into its own web of lies. He lusted for power and unlimited access to female members of his flock--including young girls and teenagers--and became a drunken tyrant, setting up re-indoctrination camps around the world for rebellious teenagers under his control. Thousands of children raised in The Family would defect and try to live normal lives, but the prophet's heir apparent, Ricky "Davidito" Rodriguez, was unable to either bear the excesses of the cult or fit into normal society. Sexually and emotionally abused as a child, Ricky left the fold and began a crusade to destroy the only family he ever knew, including a plot to kill his own mother. Veteran journalist Don Lattin has written a powerful, engrossing book about this uniquely American tragedy. Jesus Freaks is a cautionary tale for those who fail to question the prophesies and proclamations of anyone who claims to speak for God.… (més)
Membre:katihinds
Títol:Jesus Freaks
Autors:Don Lattin
Informació:Publisher Unknown, Kindle Edition, 258 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:to-read

Detalls de l'obra

Jesus Freaks: A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge de Don Lattin (2007)

No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 4 mencions

Es mostren totes 4
This is not the easiest book to form an opinion on. The topic is probably one of the most heinous things to be written about - the systematic sexual, emotional and physical abuse of children under their brand of Christianity.

The writing itself is average, but the topic overcomes the sub-par writing being such a... shocking time line of events which numerous people thought were acceptable under the guise of their religion: incest, paedophilia, child pornography, adultery and corporal punishment are all prevalent.

There are strange gaps in the book's storyline that are puzzling, and distract from the on going disaster of the children's lives and the at times seemingly escalating depravity of the adult members of the group. If not for such gaps I would rate it higher.

Possibly the most distasteful and deplorable part of the entire book is that despite all the actions which have taken place, all the abuse, sexual and physical, the entire leadership has legally walked away clean as they covered their tracks, continually changed their names and moved from country to country.

These people are, basically, evil.

They used religion as a means to exercise control over others to abuse them.

This is a book about that. ( )
1 vota HenriMoreaux | Apr 29, 2014 |
The trouble with this book is that Lattin can't decide if he wants to write a true crime book or an expose of a cult. There are ways to balance these beautifully -- Jon Krakauer did it in Under the Banner of Heaven. But Jesus Freaks really falls short. I felt like I never got enough information about the murder/suicide or enough analysis of the cult. It was more like a stew of facts set on my plate without much connection to each other, and there was no analysis of how these things happen to make the book feel whole.

Fascinating subject matter, and a terrifying story, but I wish it had been more cohesive. ( )
  sparemethecensor | Feb 9, 2014 |
Very much a troubling story of a cult called The Family. I had thought it would be a simple story of murder with some twisted version on Scripture, but this was one heck of a cult that believed in pretty much nothing but using sex to control its members. It got to be difficult reading through this at times, especially on how open they were with having sex with children, even publishing a story on it complete with pictures!

The guy who ended up defecting, who was raised like this, is the one who was unable to handle his years inside of this cult, and went after one of the women who molested him. In all honesty, I can't blame the guy for what he did, while I don't approve of it. This is not a book for the faint of heart, and it definitely cast a bad light on the rest of us Christians when folks commit such awful things in the name of God. ( )
  NemesisClaws | May 11, 2008 |
Interesting subject. Unremarkable writing, with some odd gaps. I don't know enough about the story to know how accurate this is. ( )
1 vota alexbook | Aug 7, 2007 |
Es mostren totes 4
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en rus. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès (2)

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Under the Banner of Heaven, Don Lattin's Jesus Freaks is the story of a shocking pilgrimage of revenge that left two people dead and shed new light on The Family International, one of the most controversial religious movements to emerge from the spiritual turmoil of the sixties and seventies. Some say The Family International--previously known as the Children of God--began with the best intentions. But their sexual and spiritual excesses soon forced them to go underground and follow a dark and dangerous path. Their charismatic leader, David "Moses" Berg, preached a radical critique of the piety and hypocrisy of mainstream Christianity. But Berg's message quickly devolved into its own web of lies. He lusted for power and unlimited access to female members of his flock--including young girls and teenagers--and became a drunken tyrant, setting up re-indoctrination camps around the world for rebellious teenagers under his control. Thousands of children raised in The Family would defect and try to live normal lives, but the prophet's heir apparent, Ricky "Davidito" Rodriguez, was unable to either bear the excesses of the cult or fit into normal society. Sexually and emotionally abused as a child, Ricky left the fold and began a crusade to destroy the only family he ever knew, including a plot to kill his own mother. Veteran journalist Don Lattin has written a powerful, engrossing book about this uniquely American tragedy. Jesus Freaks is a cautionary tale for those who fail to question the prophesies and proclamations of anyone who claims to speak for God.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.46)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 2
3 13
3.5 3
4 1
4.5 1
5 4

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 157,644,490 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible