IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Stone Gods de Jeanette Winterson
S'està carregant…

The Stone Gods (2007 original; edició 2009)

de Jeanette Winterson (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
1,0164420,313 (3.52)49
After rendering the planet unlivable, humankind begins to colonize a new blue planet, and heroine Billie Crusoe embarks on a personal odyssey into the future, in an adventure that explores humankind's relationship to the environment, power, and technology.
Membre:leahsusan
Títol:The Stone Gods
Autors:Jeanette Winterson (Autor)
Informació:Mariner Books (2009), Edition: 1st, 207 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

The Stone Gods de Jeanette Winterson (2007)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 49 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 44 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Science fiction that weaves together future, past, and present in three separate but interlinked stories that comment on humanity’s penchant for destroying the world, contrasted with an individual’s ability to love. In the first section, we see a futuristic setting where materialism and vanity have been taken to extremes. The planet Orbus has been decimated by the inhabitants, so they are searching for a new planet on which to start over. In the second part, we are abruptly shifted to the 18th century, where Captain Cook’s ship is visiting Easter Island. The titular “stone gods” are a reference to this island’s moai statues. In the last story, set near present time, Earth has experienced World War III (called Post-3 War), a corporation governs society, and people impacted by the fallout are attempting to survive in the wreckage. The protagonists in each of the three times have the same names (Billie/Billy and Spike/Spikkers), and the relationship forming between them is another primary area of focus.

In two of the three timelines, Spike is portrayed as a “Robo-sapiens,” programmed to gain an understanding of humanity, and designed to learn enough to eventually be able to make better decisions for the benefit of society, rather than to its detriment as humans have done. I would like to have seen more deeply drawn characters, especially Spike, as she is of core importance. The dialogue can seem overly-explanatory, but the prose is elegant. At its heart this is a cautionary tale of history repeating itself, not learning from mistakes of the past, and the dangers of overindulgences without regard to impact. Winterson applies this message to themes of environmental responsibility, authoritarian control, and abuse of technology. She examines questions of how an individual can cope in such a society.

The book itself, The Stone Gods, makes several appearances, as well as Captain Cook’s Journal. At times it can be confusing, requiring patience and re-reading in certain sections, but eventually Winterson brings it all together. It’s definitely not for everyone, as it reflects a rather bleak outlook for humankind and the message can become rather heavy-handed. It will appeal to readers of “literary science fiction” in the vein of Ursula K. LeGuin or Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy.

Memorable quotes:
“The key to happiness…is tolerance of those who do not do as you do.”

“Love is an intervention. Why do we not choose it?”

“[T]he future of the planet is uncertain. Human beings aren’t just in a mess, we are a mess. We have made every mistake, justified ourselves, and made the same mistakes again and again. It’s as though we’re doomed to repetition.”
( )
  Castlelass | Oct 30, 2022 |
At the junction of science fiction and poetry. Achingly beautiful and sad, vast in scope, and intensely personal. ( )
  Charon07 | Aug 23, 2022 |
A complex book, telling and retelling stories. It's a philosophical contemplation of ecological disaster shaped kind of like a science fiction book. The science fiction bits are only trapping and decoration, however, to a story that seems to me like Winterson rediscovering her voice. ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
Maybe it should be four stars? But maybe it's a bit too disjointed?
Perhaps I should just read it again all in one go and see.

Patches of excellent but a bit too patchy overall. ( )
  mjhunt | Jan 22, 2021 |
This one was a slow start for me and felt like pretty crappy science fiction. Toward the middle, I began to feel more optimistic and even started to like it, but then it devolved into something resembling Pynchonian slapstick that I found pretty annoying (as I often do when Pynchon does it). I found it a real labor; it's a small book that took me five or six days to wade through. Maybe a closer reading than I gave it would have been more rewarding. ( )
  dllh | Jan 6, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 44 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes col·leccions editorials

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en suec. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
This book is to my oldest friends - Philippa Brewster, Vicky Licorish, Henri Llewelyn Davies, Mona Howard, Peggy Reynolds, Beeban Kidron, Philippa Giles, and Ruth Rendell. And to Ali Smith, who came later, and to Deborah Warner, always.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en suec. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
This new world weighs a yatto-gram.
Citacions
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
I don't want to recognize what I can't manage. I want to leave it remote and star-guarded. I want it weightless, because it is too heavy for me to bear. (p. 199)
Mankind, I hazard, wherever found, Civilized or Savage, cannot keep to any purpose for much length of time, except the purpose of destroying himself.
Neither art nor love fits well into the economics of purpose, any more than they fitted into the economics of greed. Any more than they fit into economics at all.
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en suec. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès (1)

After rendering the planet unlivable, humankind begins to colonize a new blue planet, and heroine Billie Crusoe embarks on a personal odyssey into the future, in an adventure that explores humankind's relationship to the environment, power, and technology.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.52)
0.5
1 8
1.5 3
2 22
2.5 7
3 56
3.5 21
4 76
4.5 8
5 35

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 204,382,800 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible