IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Flatterland: Like Flatland, Only More So de…
S'està carregant…

Flatterland: Like Flatland, Only More So (2001 original; edició 2002)

de Ian Stewart (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
9541117,262 (3.6)12
First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.… (més)
Membre:CJKSwift
Títol:Flatterland: Like Flatland, Only More So
Autors:Ian Stewart (Autor)
Informació:Basic Books (2002), Edition: Reprint, 320 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

Flatterland de Ian Stewart (2001)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 12 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 11 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Pretty disappointed with this really, stopping 2/3 through. ( )
  porges | Jun 15, 2020 |
Non so quanti di voi abbiano letto Flatland, il testo scritto da Edwin Abbott alla fine del XIX secolo che con la scusa di raccontare la storia di una figura bidimensionale che scopre le meraviglie del mondo a tre dimensioni fa una feroce satira dell'epoca vittoriana. Ian Stewart riprende l'idea e la espande, per così dire, tanto che persino il titolo del libro è un comparativo: "Flatterland" significa letteralmente "terra più piatta". Stewart non è interessato tanto alla satira sociale, anche se ne lascia qualcosina, quanto alla divulgazione matematico-fisica, arrivando anche alla spiegazione del Big Bang e alla teoria delle stringhe e della supersimmetria. La parte divulgativa è fatta indubbiamente bene ed è alla portata di tutti; bisogna però che il lettore apprezzi lo stile umoristico di Stewart che alla lunga può risultare stucchevole, visto che è sempre alla caccia del bieco gioco di parole. A questo riguardo, onore al merito di Filippo Demonte-Barbera per la sua perfetta traduzione in italiano: nella prefazione spiega anche alcune delle scelte da lui fatte, permettendo al lettore di vedere anche l'originale inglese. Il libro termina con una postfazione di Michele Emmer, che colloca Flatterlandia (e Flatlandia) nel contesto storico e visivo di quello che è capitato negli ultimi centoventi anni. ( )
  .mau. | Jun 16, 2018 |
The main issue I have with this book is that, in relation to the concepts presented, I found it 'too much, too soon'. While the themes themselves were extremely interesting, half of it flew over my head - there were just too many concepts, too many 'spaces', and too many theories to take in at once if you don't have some background knowledge on these topics already.

As far as the story telling goes, the main character is A. Square's granddaughter, which will continue his journey many years later. The story was really just a setting for presenting the topics at hand though, and for me it is one of the weakest points in the book. Story-wise, I found it pretty poor - it's really just Victoria Line and her guide travelling through the several universes/topologies. They do get stuck in a black hole near the end, but apart from that it was pretty uneventful overall.

In hindsight, I think I would have liked (and understood) this book a lot better if it was only just a 'story book', or a science book. The way it's done, while remarkable for the attempt, leaves the presentation of both 'parts' sub par.
( )
  something_ | May 1, 2015 |
chuck out by A & N.
  velvetink | Mar 31, 2013 |
Flatterland is an extension of Flatland only on subjects of mathematics (from the elementary to the Hawk King). It fails to expand in the areas of politics, spirituality, and equality - only hinting at them as though they were afterthoughts - that made Flatland such a well-rounded read. Flatterland is nonetheless entertaining and informative, and is recommended. ( )
1 vota Sovranty | Aug 14, 2010 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 11 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes col·leccions editorials

És una seqüela de (sense pertànyer a cap sèrie)

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Seen from space, it was a strange world, with the austere beauty of a page from Euclid.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic
First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.6)
0.5
1 2
1.5 1
2 13
2.5 1
3 29
3.5 4
4 38
4.5 3
5 21

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 165,950,116 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible