IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

S'està carregant…

Letters From Father Christmas (1976)

de J. R. R. Tolkien

Altres autors: Baillie Tolkien (Editor)

Altres autors: Mira la secció altres autors.

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
2,918634,725 (4.19)87
A collection of illustrated letters from Father Christmas recapping the activities of the preceding year at the North Pole. The letters were written by the author to his children.
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 87 mencions

A charming and wonderful book, not only a mere collection of letters from Father Christmas to [a:J.R.R. Tolkien|656983|J.R.R. Tolkien|https://images.gr-assets.com/authors/1434625177p2/656983.jpg]'s kids, but reproducing copies of the original artwork and letters, calligraphic art in themselves. The letters, spanning a time period of 23 years from 1920 to 1943, speaks to Tolkien's dedication and involvement in his kids development.

Each letter gets progressively darker as time goes on, with Father Christmas addressing fewer Tolkien's kids as they get older, the last melancholic letter addressed to Priscilla alone, the youngest. The mood reflects the growing austerity of the war years in Britain, symbolized by the goblin threat in the North Pole, and experienced by Tolkien and his kids alike.

A fun book to read with your kids at any time of the year, but even better while waiting for Santa!
( )
  amurray914 | Feb 27, 2024 |
Ci sono babbi che si travestono da Babbo Natale per portare i doni au figliu. Poi c’è babbo Tolkien che fa diventare John, Michael, Christopher e Priscilla amici e amica di penna nientemeno che di Babbo Natale in persona. La classe non è acqua, gente.

E non si è limitato a inventarsi qualcosa così, su due piedi, ma ha creato un mondo innevato dove Babbo Natale, l’Orso Bianco del Nord, Ilbereth e gli altri vivessero diverse avventure, raccontate con dovizia di particolare nelle lettere. Addirittura, ogni personaggio ha la sua caratterizzazione e una scrittura sua peculiare: la grafia Babbo Natale è tutta tremolante perché è vecchio e trema per il freddo; la grafia dell’Orso Bianco del Nord è spessa e ricorda le rune perché la sua mano è molto grande; la grafia di Ilbereth, infine, è leggera e aggraziata perché è un elfo e come fa un elfo a essere disordinato?

Siccome non era abbastanza, Tolkien ha fatto in modo che le lettere fossero corredate di disegni delle avventure vissute dagli abitanti della Casa fra le Vette, vicino al Polo Nord e spero sappiate quanto il professore fosse talentuoso anche nel disegno. Vedo i suoi disegni ed è un po’ Natale e un po’ Prima Seconda e Terza Era.

Se amate Tolkien, non fatevi scappare questa meraviglia: rappresenta più un altro aspetto del suo genio creativo che un’opera minore scritta solo per il diletto della famiglia. ( )
  lasiepedimore | Jan 12, 2024 |
A beautiful book and a worthy slice of Tolkieniana, this volume reproduces letters that the author wrote to his children from Father Christmas. Over the years a repertory of characters – heroic, villainous, amusing – grows around the Christmas depot at the North Pole, and intricate tales are woven about battles between goblins, elves and snow boys. The comic North Polar Bear is a recurring and endearing character. What is most striking is the level of care and attention that Tolkien invested in each letter, writing in many colours in his immaculate Medieval-influenced script. Most years he also includes an elaborate illustration (in the style that will be familiar to all fans of Middle Earth). A treasure trove for fans of Tolkien and Christmas. ( )
  Lirmac | Jan 5, 2024 |
I loved the illustrations in this book, both the copies of the letters and the pictures that came with the letters. However, I felt a bit weird reading the letters themselves. These were written to the Tolkien children, and (unlike some books that were written for specific people) I don't think the intent upon writing them was to publish them for others to read. This book felt way too personal, almost like I was intruding on their lives. It was a fun read, but it's not going to become an annual tradition for me. ( )
  ca.bookwyrm | Dec 27, 2023 |
How did I miss this book as a holiday read? Heartfelt and heart-wrenching, Tolkien writes letters to his children as Father Christmas. His stories and illustrations are glorious and gloriously fun. The antics of Polar Bear are ingeniously drawn and told. If a lover of the TOY STORY movies, you will experience the wonderment and inevitable sadness as the children grow up. This will now be an annual read. ( )
  crabbyabbe | Dec 23, 2023 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 60 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (31 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Tolkien, J. R. R.autor primaritotes les edicionsconfirmat
Tolkien, BaillieEditorautor secundaritotes les edicionsconfirmat
Figueroa, ManuelTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Jacobi, DerekNarradorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Can you imagine writing to Father Christmas and actually getting a reply?
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
(Clica-hi per mostrar-ho. Compte: pot anticipar-te quin és el desenllaç de l'obra.)
Nota de desambiguació
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Various editions of this book, some titled "Letters from Father Christmas" and some "The Father Christmas Letters",
offer significantly different selections from the letters and from Tolkien's illustrations. Most of these differences are explained here: https://wayneandchristina.wordpress.co...
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en italià. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès (1)

A collection of illustrated letters from Father Christmas recapping the activities of the preceding year at the North Pole. The letters were written by the author to his children.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.19)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 13
2.5 5
3 60
3.5 15
4 125
4.5 20
5 177

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 202,121,995 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible