IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Aphrodisiac (Berkley Sensation) de Allyson…
S'està carregant…

Aphrodisiac (Berkley Sensation) (edició 2008)

de Allyson Roy

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
453444,392 (2.67)2
One of the most deliriously entertaining novels of the year— for fans of Janet Evanovich and Jennifer Crusie. Gwen Applebee’s suicide doesn’t make sense. Sex therapist Saylor Oz is certain that the late perfume maker and fashionista wouldn’t have been caught dead wearing a fanny pack. Yet one was strapped around her waist. And what’s up with the coded message in her “suicide note?”Well, it seems Gwen stumbled upon an ancient formula with great powers, and someone was willing to kill for it. Now it’s up to Saylor to find out where it’s hidden—and from the dark corners of Brooklyn to the glittering skyscrapers of Manhattan, she must outrun a killer, every glamorous step of the way.… (més)
Membre:kellyscott17
Títol:Aphrodisiac (Berkley Sensation)
Autors:Allyson Roy
Informació:Berkley (2008), Paperback, 368 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:No n'hi ha cap

Detalls de l'obra

Aphrodisiac (Berkley Sensation) de Allyson Roy

No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 2 mencions

Es mostren totes 3
Great setting (DUMBO and Red Hook), but weak plot and characters. ( )
  librarianarpita | Oct 9, 2011 |
What would you do to get your hands on a true aphrodisiac? The fact is people go crazy over sex on a large scale. They fight about it. They pay for it. They make promises for it. They even kill for it. So if such an aphrodisiac really existed what would it be worth? And, what would you do in order to have some of it?

Aphrodisiac is hip, funny, contemporary and a thriller/suspense to die for. And die they do!

Sex therapist Saylor Oz looks to find out why her best friend was murdered and the answer takes her on a suspenseful tour of Brooklyn clubs and dark allies. But, not without a little humor. This Janet Evanovich-style romantic suspense holds a new voice and a sexy flair. ( )
  readersentertainment | Sep 7, 2008 |
Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Sep08

What woman hasn’t dreamed of being irresistible to men? Of having any man you want at your feet, either figuratively or maybe even literally for those bad girls out there. Well Allyson Roy has written a cleverly plotted mystery about just that. “Aphrodisiac” is a slick, intricate mystery about a murder committed over an ancient aphrodisiac brought back to life.

Saylor Oz (don’t blame her, it’s a family name) is a sex therapist. She’s an unapologetic city girl who’s still ‘in the market’ for a man. When her best friend from childhood drowns and it’s called a suicide, Saylor doesn’t buy it. Sure Gwen was occasionally depressed, but she would never, absolutely never have been wearing a fanny pack! Add in a robbery and attempted attack, and Saylor is becomes even more convinced that Gwen didn’t commit suicide. But what the heck do her murderers want with Saylor?

I found “Aphrodisiac” a bit hard going. The plot was very clever, there were certainly a plethora of suspects and each had reasons to kill Gwen. The clues were cunningly interlaced throughout the story and I didn’t figure out the guilty party until the author revealed it at the end. The characters were sharply portrayed and never really deviated from expected behavior. Doesn’t all this sound great? It was.

What wasn’t so great for me was the attitude for lack of a better word. The vocabulary was very ‘street’. At least that what’s I think it was. I’m probably just too old and not ‘hip’ (or whatever it’s called nowadays) enough, but I found myself put off by just about every character involved. I’ve never lived in New York City and if most of the people who do talk like this then I think that’s a very good thing. The book is also written in first person and there were times it was hard for me to keep track of who was who and who was talking or thinking when. I was also a bit turned off by the gratuitous killings and beating administered by the bad guys. I get the fact that they’re bad. I guess this was just a bit too ‘gritty’ for me.

I think if you’re a younger reader who likes a more realistic, big city murder mystery…you would likely enjoy “Aphrodisiac” by Allyson Roy very much. As for me, when I want to read a mystery, I prefer the more gentle ‘cozy’ mysteries. But hey, variety is the spice of life and what’s not right for me may be just what another reader has been looking for.

Til next time
JJ ( )
  jjmachshev | Sep 6, 2008 |
Es mostren totes 3
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

Pertany a aquestes sèries

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

No n'hi ha cap

One of the most deliriously entertaining novels of the year— for fans of Janet Evanovich and Jennifer Crusie. Gwen Applebee’s suicide doesn’t make sense. Sex therapist Saylor Oz is certain that the late perfume maker and fashionista wouldn’t have been caught dead wearing a fanny pack. Yet one was strapped around her waist. And what’s up with the coded message in her “suicide note?”Well, it seems Gwen stumbled upon an ancient formula with great powers, and someone was willing to kill for it. Now it’s up to Saylor to find out where it’s hidden—and from the dark corners of Brooklyn to the glittering skyscrapers of Manhattan, she must outrun a killer, every glamorous step of the way.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (2.67)
0.5 2
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 2
3.5
4 2
4.5
5 1

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 158,985,555 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible