IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

Only Kayak: A Journey Into The Heart Of…
S'està carregant…

Only Kayak: A Journey Into The Heart Of Alaska (2005 original; edició 2006)

de Kim Heacox (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaConverses
553363,751 (4.46)No n'hi ha cap
In this coming-of-middle-age memoir, Kim Heacox, writing in the tradition of Abbey, McPhee, and Thoreau, discovers an Alaska reborn from beneath a massive glacier, where flowers emerge from boulders, moose swim fjords, and bears cross crevasses with Homeric resolve. In such a place Heacox finds that people are reborn too, and their lives begin anew with incredible journeys, epiphanies, and successes. All in an America free of crass commercialism and overdevelopment. Braided through the larger story are tales of gold prospectors and the cabin they built sixty years ago; John Muir and his intrepid terrier, Stickeen; and a dynamic geology professor who teaches earth science "as if every day were a geological epoch." Nearly two million people come to Alaska every summer, some on large cruise ships, some in single kayaks--all in search of the last great wilderness, the Africa of America. It is exactly the America Heacox finds in this story of paradox, love, and loss.… (més)
Membre:dele2451
Títol:Only Kayak: A Journey Into The Heart Of Alaska
Autors:Kim Heacox (Autor)
Informació:Lyons Press (2006), Edition: First Edition, 280 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:*****
Etiquetes:paperback, nonfiction, Kim Heacox, memoir, Alaska, kayak, travel, glacier, outdoor, nature, autobiographical, autographed copy, ice, wilder, encroachment, Glacier Bay, environment, environmental, photographer, naturalist, National Geographic, white thunder, rebirth, landscape, wildlife, map, change, boat, wild, National Park Service, paddle, iceberg, transience, Reid Inlet, Bartlett Cove, park ranger, rain, Bitterroot Mountains, Idaho, Spokane, teacher impact, Dr Michael Folsom, geology, erosion, depositional, John Muir, erratic boulder, calving, off the grid, camping, Harry Fielding Reid, humpback whale, primal self, spirituality, Joe Ibach, frontier, Mus Ibach, national monument, public land, pioneer's paradox, ecology, gold prospecting, federal land, Richard Steele, William Cooper, national park, inlet, Michio Hoshino, Lemesurier Island, paradise lost, cruise, tourism, Eliza Ruhamah Scidmore, capitalism, otherness, Denali National Park, freelance, seasonal job, World Wildlife Fund, caribou, government employee, civil service, willow, ptarmigan, Charles Sheldon, hunting, Dall sheep, natural history, background, grizzly bear, nagoonberry, backcountry ranger, animal control, Garforth Island, Hank Lentfer, wildlife photography, geotheomorphology, Austin Post, glaciology, Exxon Valdez, oil spill, water pollution, Organic Act, The Tragedy of the Commons, deep time, Friends of Glacier Bay, Arctic National Wildlife, Tongass National Forest, refuge, preservation, land management, logging, timber, clearcut, dipper, Mark Kelley, SETI

Detalls de l'obra

The Only Kayak: A Journey into the Heart of Alaska de Kim Heacox (2005)

No n'hi ha cap.

No n'hi ha cap
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

Es mostren totes 3
I recently took a trip to Alaska and asked two different park rangers there (one male and one female) what their favorite book about the state was and they both quickly answered "The Only Kayak". That was good enough for me, so I bought it. They certainly didn't steer me wrong. This is nature writing at its finest. If Muir were still with us, he'd own a worn copy of this book and be honored to be featured in it. This book is even more important today than it was when it was copyrighted in 2005. Read it and buy another copy for someone you love. ( )
  dele2451 | Jun 9, 2018 |
Heacox's book isn't one to devour at high speed; it was one to be sipped, calming and grounding. It's about love of place, wherever that is, and preservation of the world through wildness. It's about how our collection fascination with conquering nature, with being the only kayak, has contributed to sprawl and to material excess. It's a love poem to a dying habitat, and a rage against the government that wants to drill holes in sacred places. It acknowledges that Alaska has teeth, that it can kill the careless, but that its danger is its beauty. I love this book, I love the sentiment behind it, I love its wisdom. I want to buy a hundred copies and give it out like matchbooks in a bar: a small way to light a thousand fires. ( )
2 vota nilchance | Jan 8, 2009 |
This book is equal parts: memoir, history, environmental activism, philosophy, ecological education, big business scandal and tribute to a famous wildlife photographer and friend.
I loved Mr. Heacox's easy writing style. He has led such an interesting life that his retelling of his experiences is captivating. There are several breath-taking photos in the books to help visualize the places and faces.
I love this book so much that I give it as a gift. ( )
2 vota SSTREETT | Nov 6, 2007 |
Es mostren totes 3
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Epígraf
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
And now I understand. I understand all the old attempts at description. I understand why they were written and why they failed. [Dave Bohn, Glacier Bay: The Land and the Silence]
Dedicatòria
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
For my mother and father, Virginia and Bill Heacox, who taught me when to hold on and when to let go.
Primeres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
You paddle a canoe; you wear a kayak.
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès (2)

In this coming-of-middle-age memoir, Kim Heacox, writing in the tradition of Abbey, McPhee, and Thoreau, discovers an Alaska reborn from beneath a massive glacier, where flowers emerge from boulders, moose swim fjords, and bears cross crevasses with Homeric resolve. In such a place Heacox finds that people are reborn too, and their lives begin anew with incredible journeys, epiphanies, and successes. All in an America free of crass commercialism and overdevelopment. Braided through the larger story are tales of gold prospectors and the cabin they built sixty years ago; John Muir and his intrepid terrier, Stickeen; and a dynamic geology professor who teaches earth science "as if every day were a geological epoch." Nearly two million people come to Alaska every summer, some on large cruise ships, some in single kayaks--all in search of the last great wilderness, the Africa of America. It is exactly the America Heacox finds in this story of paradox, love, and loss.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Dreceres

Cobertes populars

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.46)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 4
4.5 2
5 6

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 155,636,695 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible