IniciGrupsConversesExploraTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.
Hide this

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Dangers of Smoking in Bed de Mariana…
S'està carregant…

The Dangers of Smoking in Bed (edició 2022)

de Mariana Enriquez (Autor)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
251888,551 (3.64)26
SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE * "The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery" (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges. KIRKUS PRIZE FINALIST * "Mariana Enriquez's stories are smoky, carnal, and dazzling."--Lauren Groff, author of Matrix and Fates and Furies Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror. The stories in her new collection are as terrifying as they are socially conscious, and press into being the unspoken--fetish, illness, the female body, the darkness of human history--with bracing urgency. A woman is sexually obsessed with the human heart; a lost, rotting baby crawls out of a backyard and into a bedroom; a pair of teenage girls can't let go of their idol; an entire neighborhood is cursed to death when it fails to respond correctly to a moral dilemma.   Written against the backdrop of contemporary Argentina, and with a resounding tenderness toward those in pain, in fear, and in limbo, The Dangers of Smoking in Bed is Mariana Enriquez at her most sophisticated, and most chilling.… (més)
Membre:ninachatrath
Títol:The Dangers of Smoking in Bed
Autors:Mariana Enriquez (Autor)
Informació:Granta Books (2022)
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:Cap

Informació de l'obra

The Dangers of Smoking in Bed: Stories de Mariana Enriquez

  1. 20
    Mouthful of Birds de Samanta Schweblin (RidgewayGirl)
    RidgewayGirl: Both are South American writers who use horror and an off-beat point of view.
  2. 00
    Homesick for Another World de Ottessa Moshfegh (j_aroche)
    j_aroche: If you find uplifting reading about filth in human existence
S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 26 mencions

Es mostren 1-5 de 8 (següent | mostra-les totes)
An uneven collection with hits and misses. When it hits, it hits hard but there's also weaker efforts that let it down (the last two tales including the titular one made for a weak finish). There's also only so many samey ghost stories you can read before it all blurs into one but I'll allow that might have been an intended effect, creating an alternate Argentina where these creepy things all coexist. ( )
  ElegantMechanic | May 28, 2022 |
Argentine writer Marianne Enriquez has a deft hand with these noir stories, consisting of some horror, and some of a more paranormal bent.

One of my favorites involved street kids believed to have been killed, returning in droves as if from the dead.

Enriquez has a way of building tension and then ending the story just as the horror is set to begin. It’s an effective technique, but as almost every story follows this pattern, I personally would have enjoyed some stories using a different arc. ( )
  streamsong | Apr 23, 2022 |
So this was a wonderful surprise. I've liked the translator, Megan McDowell's choices of books to translate in the past and when this one showed up on the shortlist for the International Booker Prize, I thought it looked interesting enough, and boy, was it. This is a collection of horror short stories that are thought-provoking and odd. In the opening story, a woman is haunted by a decomposing baby, which pretty much sets the tone for the book. If you are a fan of Samanta Schweblin, were an emo kid, or just like weird and off-beat stories, then you'll love this. ( )
  RidgewayGirl | Jun 6, 2021 |
i didn't love the first half but enjoyed the second half more, particularly "no birthdays or baptisms" and "kids who come back" as a highlight- creepypasta meets cute horror. ( )
  boredgames | May 28, 2021 |
Disturbing Shorts
Review of the Hogarth Press hardcover edition (2021) translated from the Spanish language original "Los peligros de fumar en la cama" (2009)

When I say "disturbing", I mean more along the lines of repulsive, icky and gross, rather than haunting, mystifying and mesmerizing. I had especially enjoyed Enriquez first English language translation "Things We Lost in the Fire" (2016/2017), especially for its Lovecraftian allusions and endings. This latest collection is translated from an earlier 2009 work and seems too often to go for gross-out effects such as defecation to shock the reader.

I did find the novella-length story Kids Who Came Back to be the best work in the collection, with the horror of its en masse The Monkey's Paw-like returns of the disappeared children of Buenos Aires. That one was haunting, atmospheric and effective, though still disturbing. The rest were entirely forgettable for me.

This is surprisingly on the shortlist for the International Booker Prize 2021. I haven't read any of the others, but would still be shocked if one them didn't win over this one. ( )
  alanteder | Apr 26, 2021 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 8 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Mariana Enriquezautor primaritotes les edicionscalculat
McDowell, MeganTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Pel·lícules relacionades
Premis i honors
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès

Cap

SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL BOOKER PRIZE * "The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery" (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges. KIRKUS PRIZE FINALIST * "Mariana Enriquez's stories are smoky, carnal, and dazzling."--Lauren Groff, author of Matrix and Fates and Furies Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror. The stories in her new collection are as terrifying as they are socially conscious, and press into being the unspoken--fetish, illness, the female body, the darkness of human history--with bracing urgency. A woman is sexually obsessed with the human heart; a lost, rotting baby crawls out of a backyard and into a bedroom; a pair of teenage girls can't let go of their idol; an entire neighborhood is cursed to death when it fails to respond correctly to a moral dilemma.   Written against the backdrop of contemporary Argentina, and with a resounding tenderness toward those in pain, in fear, and in limbo, The Dangers of Smoking in Bed is Mariana Enriquez at her most sophisticated, and most chilling.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (3.64)
0.5
1
1.5
2 5
2.5
3 9
3.5 9
4 17
4.5 1
5 6

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 172,050,085 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible