IniciGrupsConversesMésTendències
Cerca al lloc
Aquest lloc utilitza galetes per a oferir els nostres serveis, millorar el desenvolupament, per a anàlisis i (si no has iniciat la sessió) per a publicitat. Utilitzant LibraryThing acceptes que has llegit i entès els nostres Termes de servei i política de privacitat. L'ús que facis del lloc i dels seus serveis està subjecte a aquestes polítiques i termes.

Resultats de Google Books

Clica una miniatura per anar a Google Books.

The Last Jew of Treblinka: A Memoir de Chil…
S'està carregant…

The Last Jew of Treblinka: A Memoir (edició 2011)

de Chil Rajchman (Autor), Elie Wiesel (Prefaci)

MembresRessenyesPopularitatValoració mitjanaMencions
3551572,569 (4.08)15
Why do some live while so many others perish? Tiny children, old men, beautiful girls; in the gas chambers of Treblinka, all are equal. The Nazis kept the fires of Treblinka burning night and day, a central cog in the wheel of the Final Solution. There was no pretense of work here like in Auschwitz or Birkenau, only a train platform and a road covered with sand. A road that led only to death. But not for the author, a young man who survived working as a "barber" and "dentist," heartsick with witnessing atrocity after atrocity. Yet he managed to survive so that somehow he could tell the world what he had seen. How he found the dress of his little sister abandoned in the woods. How he was forced to extract gold teeth from the corpses. How every night he had to cover the body pits with sand. How every morning the blood of thousands still rose to the surface. Many have courageously told their stories, and in the tradition of Elie Wiesel's "Night" and Primo Levi's "Survival at Auschwitz" and "The Drowned and the Saved," the author provides the only survivor's record of Treblinka. Originally written in Yiddish in 1945 without hope or agenda other than to bear witness, this tale shows that sometimes the bravest and most painful act of all is to remember.… (més)
Membre:mackerdoodledoo
Títol:The Last Jew of Treblinka: A Memoir
Autors:Chil Rajchman (Autor)
Altres autors:Elie Wiesel (Prefaci)
Informació:Pegasus Books (2011), Edition: 1st, 160 pages
Col·leccions:La teva biblioteca
Valoració:
Etiquetes:to-read

Informació de l'obra

The Last Jew of Treblinka: A Memoir de Chil Rajchman (Author)

S'està carregant…

Apunta't a LibraryThing per saber si aquest llibre et pot agradar.

No hi ha cap discussió a Converses sobre aquesta obra.

» Mira també 15 mencions

Anglès (12)  Italià (1)  Castellà (1)  Danès (1)  Totes les llengües (15)
Es mostren 1-5 de 15 (següent | mostra-les totes)
To anyone who has read as many survivor's memoires of the Holocaust as I have, it is plainly obvious why this one was not as widely read as the others. Authors like Primo Levi and Elie Wiesel made bestseller lists because they have an innate literary talent that Chil Rajchman is sorely missing, which does much to make their books accessible to a global audience. That being said, a way with words or lack-there-of should not detract from this book. Rajchman is one of the few survivors of Treblinka, so we must look past his brusque delivery to see the incredible story of survival within. Rajchman's straightforward narrative actually betrays much about his experience, thus doing the book a favour, by exposing the emotionally deadening caused by the attrocities of his experience. ( )
  JaimieRiella | Feb 25, 2021 |
"It is the writer's duty to tell the terrible truth, and it is a reader's civic duty to learn this truth." Vasily Grossman
  nick4998 | Oct 31, 2020 |
“Rajchman è un sopravvissuto di Treblinka. Ha visto tutto, sentito tutto, provato tutto. Ha il coraggio di deporre per la Storia.Il suo racconto è di una densità che dà i brividi. Credo di aver letto molte opere su questo stesso soggetto. E tutte sono dolorose... (fonte: Google Books)
  MemorialeSardoShoah | May 8, 2020 |
A shocking, horrifying portrait of the Treblinka death camp, written in starkly plain language by one of its few survivors. THE LAST JEW OF TREBLINKA was not published until 2011, several years after Rajchman had died, in Uruguay where he had emigrated and become a successful businessman. Rajchman only survived because he was one of a handful of prisoners to escape after an ill-fated revolt. Barely a hundred pages, you can read his account in a couple hours. This is not a book to "like." It is too filled with descriptions of horror, cruelty, suffering and inhumanity. Recommended only if you have a strong stomach. An important piece of Holocaust history.

- Tim Bazzett, author of the memoir, BOOKLOVER ( )
  TimBazzett | Apr 25, 2018 |
This is a book by a Holocaust survivor, it's gruesome and heartbreaking details of how the prisoners were tortured, starved, beaten, killed and forced to commit all types of ungodly tasks. We will never forget. Thank you for writing the book. ( )
  kerryp | Mar 6, 2018 |
Es mostren 1-5 de 15 (següent | mostra-les totes)
Sense ressenyes | afegeix-hi una ressenya

» Afegeix-hi altres autors (8 possibles)

Nom de l'autorCàrrecTipus d'autorObra?Estat
Rajchman, ChilAutorautor primaritotes les edicionsconfirmat
Beinfeld, SolonTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Bokelmann, UlrikeÜbersetzerautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Katlev, JanTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Rozier, GillesTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Verhasselt, RubenTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Vihervuori, MaritaTraductorautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat
Wieviorka, AnnettePrefaciautor secundarialgunes edicionsconfirmat

Pertany a aquestes col·leccions editorials

Has d'iniciar sessió per poder modificar les dades del coneixement compartit.
Si et cal més ajuda, mira la pàgina d'ajuda del coneixement compartit.
Títol normalitzat
Informació del coneixement compartit en francès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Títol original
Títols alternatius
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Data original de publicació
Gent/Personatges
Llocs importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Esdeveniments importants
Informació del coneixement compartit en anglès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
Pel·lícules relacionades
Epígraf
Dedicatòria
Primeres paraules
Citacions
Darreres paraules
Nota de desambiguació
Editor de l'editorial
Creadors de notes promocionals a la coberta
Llengua original
Informació del coneixement compartit en francès. Modifica-la per localitzar-la a la teva llengua.
CDD/SMD canònics
LCC canònic

Referències a aquesta obra en fonts externes.

Wikipedia en anglès (2)

Why do some live while so many others perish? Tiny children, old men, beautiful girls; in the gas chambers of Treblinka, all are equal. The Nazis kept the fires of Treblinka burning night and day, a central cog in the wheel of the Final Solution. There was no pretense of work here like in Auschwitz or Birkenau, only a train platform and a road covered with sand. A road that led only to death. But not for the author, a young man who survived working as a "barber" and "dentist," heartsick with witnessing atrocity after atrocity. Yet he managed to survive so that somehow he could tell the world what he had seen. How he found the dress of his little sister abandoned in the woods. How he was forced to extract gold teeth from the corpses. How every night he had to cover the body pits with sand. How every morning the blood of thousands still rose to the surface. Many have courageously told their stories, and in the tradition of Elie Wiesel's "Night" and Primo Levi's "Survival at Auschwitz" and "The Drowned and the Saved," the author provides the only survivor's record of Treblinka. Originally written in Yiddish in 1945 without hope or agenda other than to bear witness, this tale shows that sometimes the bravest and most painful act of all is to remember.

No s'han trobat descripcions de biblioteca.

Descripció del llibre
Sumari haiku

Debats actuals

Cap

Cobertes populars

Dreceres

Valoració

Mitjana: (4.08)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 8
3.5 2
4 36
4.5 2
5 13

Ets tu?

Fes-te Autor del LibraryThing.

 

Quant a | Contacte | LibraryThing.com | Privadesa/Condicions | Ajuda/PMF | Blog | Botiga | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteques llegades | Crítics Matiners | Coneixement comú | 204,623,189 llibres! | Barra superior: Sempre visible