Imatge de l'autor

George Edward Stanley (1942–2011)

Autor/a de The Clue of the Left Handed Envelope

90 obres 6,456 Membres 31 Ressenyes

Sobre l'autor

George Edward Stanley was born in Memphis, Texas on July 15, 1942. He received a bachelor's degree in 1965 and a master's degree in 1967 from Texas Tech University. He earned his Doctor Litterarum in African Linguistics in 1974 from the University of Port Elizabeth in South Africa. He lived all mostra'n més over Europe and Africa, studying and teaching foreign languages, working for the U.S. government, and writing books for young people and adults. He started writing fiction while a Fulbright professor in Chad, Central Africa, where about the only diversion he found available was listening to the BBC on his short wave radio. That led to his writing radio plays for a program called World Service Short Story. Three of his plays were eventually produced. After writing and publishing over 200 short stories in American, British, Irish, and South African magazines and linguistics articles in major international journals, he started writing books. He wrote over 100 fiction and non-fiction books for young people including The Katie Lynn Cookie Company series and the Adam Sharp series. He also wrote under the pseudonyms of M. T. Coffin, Franklin W. Dixon, Laura Lee Hope, Carolyn Keene, Adam Mills, and Stuart Symons. He was a professor of African and Middle-Eastern languages and linguistics in the department of foreign languages at Cameron University. He died from a ruptured aneurysm on February 7, 2011 at the age of 68. (Bowker Author Biography) mostra'n menys

Inclou aquests noms: G. E. Stanley, George E. Stanley, George E. Stanley

Inclou també: M. Masters (1)

Nota de desambiguació:

(eng) George Edward Stanley wrote the Hawkeye Collins & Amy Adams series as M. Masters. He also wrote many of the Spinetinglers books under the M. T. Coffin pseudonym.


Obres de George Edward Stanley

The Cobweb Confession (2001) 620 exemplars
The Mystery of the Stolen Statue (2004) 421 exemplars
The Mystery of the Hairy Tomatoes (2001) 280 exemplars
Wild Horses (2001) 258 exemplars
The Case of the Dirty Clue (2003) 232 exemplars
The Riddle of the Stolen Sand (2003) 217 exemplars
Snake Camp (2000) 213 exemplars
The Secret of the Wooden Witness (2004) 183 exemplars
The Secret of the Green Skin (2003) 177 exemplars
Geronimo: Young Warrior (2001) 155 exemplars
Ghost Horse (1999) 128 exemplars
Crazy Horse: Young War Chief (2005) 118 exemplars
Night Fires (2009) 114 exemplars
Andrew Jackson (2003) 93 exemplars
Operation Spy School (2003) 82 exemplars
The Codebreaker Kids (1987) 74 exemplars
Moose Master (2004) 57 exemplars
The Spy Who Barked (2002) 54 exemplars
Swimming with Sharks (2003) 48 exemplars
George S. Patton: War Hero (2007) 39 exemplars
London Calling (2002) 37 exemplars
Sitting Bull: Great Sioux Hero (2010) 36 exemplars
Davy Crockett: Frontier Legend (2008) 35 exemplars
The Day the Ants Got Really Mad (1996) 34 exemplars
The Secret Ingredient (1999) 27 exemplars
The Ukrainian Egg Mystery (1986) 17 exemplars
Code Word Kangaroo (2004) 12 exemplars
Frogs' Legs for Dinner? (2000) 12 exemplars
The Italian Spaghetti Mystery (1987) 8 exemplars
The Codebreaker Kids Return (1989) 6 exemplars
Bugs for Breakfast (1996) 6 exemplars
Wedding Cookies (2001) 6 exemplars
The Battle of the Bakers (2000) 5 exemplars
The Case of the Bank-Robbing Bandit — Autor — 4 exemplars
Aviation Quarterly Volume 8, Number 2 (1985) — Editor — 4 exemplars
Aviation Quarterly Volume 8, Number 4 — Editor — 3 exemplars
Aviation Quarterly Volume 8, Number 3 — Editor — 3 exemplars
The Mexican Tamale Mystery (1988) 3 exemplars
Aviation Quarterly Volume 9, Number 1 (1989) — Editor — 3 exemplars
The New Republic: 1763-1815 (2005) 3 exemplars
A Werewolf Followed Me Home (1997) 2 exemplars


Coneixement comú

Altres noms
Masters, M. (pseudonym)
Coffin, M. T.
Data de naixement
Data de defunció
Lloc de naixement
Memphis, Hall County, Texas, USA
Lloc de defunció
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Causa de la mort
ruptured aneurysm
Llocs de residència
Memphis, Texas, USA
Chad (Africa)
South Africa
Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Texas Tech University (BA|1965)
Texas Tech University (MA|1967)
University of Port Elizabeth (DLitt|1974)
professor (African and Middle-Eastern Languages and Linguistics)
children's book author
Nota de desambiguació
George Edward Stanley wrote the Hawkeye Collins & Amy Adams series as M. Masters. He also wrote many of the Spinetinglers books under the M. T. Coffin pseudonym.



It's 1922, and thirteen-year-old Woodrow Harper has moved with his widowed mother to his father's hometown of Lawton, Oklahoma. Perhaps here he will be able to find the closeness to his father that eluded him when his father was alive. He is befriended by his new next-door neighbor, a powerful state senator who becomes the father figure Woodrow always wanted, who understands him in a way his own father never did. The senator introduces Woodrow to the "best" people in town, but Woodrow soon realizes the "best" people have some terrible secrets, and to be accepted by them he has to do things that make him abandon his own values, culminating in a terrifying act of violence close to home.… (més)
LynneQuan | Jan 26, 2024 |



Potser també t'agrada

Autors associats

Guy Francis Illustrator
Salvatore Murdocca Illustrator
Sal Murdocca Illustrator
Meryl Henderson Illustrator
Jared Lee Illustrator
Bruce Lansky Creator


½ 3.5

Gràfics i taules